Frog’s Legs: Trendy, Classic … Endangered?

We all have our food hang-ups … something that makes us a little squeamish. I was a very fussy eater when I was a child, so if I had predicted I’d be eating and preparing cuisses de grenouilles (a.k.a. frogs legs) for dinner, no one would have believed it.

IMGP6136

Apparently I was supposed to take off the little top part. Who knew … ?

But this past weekend marks the second time in a month we have sat down to dine on the French (and Asian) classic. Growing up, this dish was prepared for special occasions at Mr.T’s house; I, on the other hand, had only tried them once in my life.

IMGP6106

Mr. T’s special dinner -with the top part removed off the frogs legs! I think they look much better this way

This experience stands out in my memory: I was 12 and at a friend’s birthday party. We were at a Vietnamese restaurant and they appeared on the table. I was always taught I should try something before saying I didn’t like it. I remember all the other little girls refusing to eat them, and the look on my friend’s face.  So I had no choice. I tried them.

Having outgrown most of my childhood food issues, I was kind of excited to re-try them when Mr. T prepared a special dinner for us. Lightly floured and pan fried with a little garlic, they were tastier than I had thought, and an unique complement to our scallops (YUM!) and pasta.

IMG_0788

Can you see why I got a little squeamish?

For our second go with them, I dove in and did the preparing. That was a whole different ball game.  My recipe was exciting: Asian inspired cuisses de grenouilles with a marinade of soja, garlic, honey, and orange. However, working with the “raw materials” clearly made a difference.  Seeing them marinating in a bowl sent too many ideas swimming into my head (pun intended) … I was squeamish.

While I placed them in the pan and sent out little shrieks of apprehension, Mr. T rationally told me to stop it, “it’s just another meat”. Good point.  Is a chicken wing really that different from a frog leg?

IMGP6134

Garlic & soya seasoned with black sesame & scallions

Once we got down to the business of eating them, they were tasty enough to almost distract me from my earlier queasiness. Almost.

Other than knowing frogs legs are a delicacy in many cuisines, I really knew very little. So, I thought I’d do a little research. I was really just looking for a few facts and figures, however, what I stumbled upon was article after article outlining how frog populations are nearing extinction due to overconsumption.

I became acutely aware that the eating of frogs legs raises or should raise some serious ethical questions.  I began to wonder, how many other people had any idea about this?

So, in a nut shell here’s what I’ve learned:

  • India and Bangladesh used to be the largest suppliers for the international export market. After serious ecological impacts due to unsustainable harvesting, the collapse of two native species, and their addition to endangered species lists, both countries imposed regulations to control the export by 1989.
  • Indonesia is now the largest exporter in the world. Indonesia exports between 4,000-5,000 tonnes of frogs’ legs per year, and domestically consumes an estimate of between two to seven times the export volume
  • With export and domestic consumption figures, 300 million to over 1 billion frogs are exploited annually in Indonesia alone! That’s a lotta frogs legs!!!
  • The EU has protected more than 20 native frog species, but continues to import from other international sources
  • The EU imports over 80% of Indonesia’s frogs legs
  • In a 10-year period (1999- 2009), Belgium was the EU’s largest importer of frog’s legs (importing 53% of the 84% Indonesia exports to the EU) followed by France, Netherlands, Italy and then Spain
  • Not all frogs legs which are exported are endangered, but stricter controls for both the exporting and importing countries need to be put in place to monitor the trade and ensure its sustainability

Why should we care?

Well, the depletion of wild frog populations throws off the delicate balance of the ecosystem. With the frogs gone, insect populations are left unchecked. This causes harm to agriculture in the area, and consequently pesticide use increases dramatically.

And this impacts us all.

As for me, after all the reading I’ve done, it seems eating frog’s legs once every 10 to 15 years suits me just fine. I think this weekend I’ll be roasting up some nice, local veggies!

Note: my blog is not really political in nature, I try to keep it light-hearted and focus on what I’m eating and doing, but I’m also learning all the time … and this was a good learning experience I felt compelled to share.

If you’re interested in more info:

Comprehensive Report 

http://www.defenders.org/publications/canapes_to_extinction.pdf

Interesting Site

http://www.savethefrogs.com/

4 thoughts on “Frog’s Legs: Trendy, Classic … Endangered?

  1. Not had Frogs legs since I was a kid. Your article made me feel so nostalgic, brought back memories of Grandma (dad’s mom) who used to make them for me. I was her “favourite,” she pampered me a lot. Funny thing, whenever I’m ill and close to delirium (not very often), I demand frogs legs. The last time I felt ill, my brother Carlos, searched over 100 restaurants in Mumbai for frogs legs. Found them at last in a Colaba Chinese restaurant.

    Can’t wait till you tackle brain masala/fry!

    • Glad you liked the post … “favourite” you say hmmm? She probably told each one that they were her favourite … 🙂 I’ve never had Indian style frogs legs … what spices do they use?

Please leave your ideas, comments or questions!